Magnet Recognition

The Daisy Award

The Daisy Award


The DAISY Award is a national program that rewards and celebrates the extraordinary clinical skill and compassionate care given by nurses everyday. The DAISY Foundation was established in 2000 by the family of J. Patrick Barnes who died of complications of the auto-immune disease Idiopathic Thrombocytopenia Purpura ( ITP) at the age of 33. DAISY is an acronym for diseases attacking the immune system. During his hospitalization, his family was awestruck by the care and compassion his nurses provided not only to Pat but to everyone in his family. So one of the goals they set in creating a Foundation in Pat's memory was to recognize extraordinary nurses everywhere who make an enormous difference in the lives of so many people by the super-human work they do everyday.  

DAISY Award honorees personify Robert Packer Hospital's remarkable patient experience. These nurses consistently demonstrate excellence through their clinical expertise and extraordinary compassionate care, and they are recognized as outstanding role models in our nursing community! The program was implemented by the People/Professional Council in 2010. This group reviews nominations and selects the next recipient quarterly.

Recent Recipients:

  • January 2013 - Geena Scalzo, RN - 6NW
  • April 2013 - Lois Crouse, RN - 4W
  • July 2013 - Tasha Mease, RN - ED
  • October 2013 - Mary Gorman, RN - OR
  • February 2014 - Lacey Cowburn, RN - 7 Main

Lacey Cowburn, RN from 7 Main is the newest Daisy Award Recipient.

Latest "Spirit Bell" Recipients

February Spirit Bell Recipients

ICU presented the Spirit Bell to RPH Maintenance/Construction

Other Recipients:

  • Pulmonary Rehab 12/5/12
  • Bio Med 1/2/13
  • 5 Main 5/9/13
  • Rehab Services 8/8/13
  • ICU 11/14/13
  • RPH Maintenance/Construction 2/13/14

Spirit Bell Poem:

Sound of Success
Ring out the old. Ring in the new.
We're chiming in to celebrate You!
Your commitment was awesome
And we must award
The way your approach
Strikes harmonious chords
It has been confirmed
What we already knew…
Excellence rings true
In all that you do!

What is the "Spirit Bell"?

A process designed to recognize departmental commitment and achievements consistent with Guthrie values, mission, and commitment to patients, families, and our communities. 

Process Open to all disciplines

  • Awarded monthly by previous recipient
  • Passed on first Wednesday of every month – Announced at Magnet Council Meeting
  • Scrapbook passed on each month. Take this opportunity to celebrate with the next Department – Take pictures and have fun! 
  • Document passing within scrapbook and with pictures.


  • Service to Patients, Families, and One Another
  • Dignity, Respect, and Honesty
  • Continuous Improvement and Innovation 
  • Responsible Stewardship for the Community Resources Entrusted to Us 
  • Individual Responsibility, Accountability, and Recognition 
  • Communication and Teamwork

2013 Mabel Lamberson Awards Luncheon

This year’s Mabel Lamberson Awards luncheon was held on Tuesday, June 11 in the Patterson Auditorium. Cheryl Meyer, Director of Nursing Education & Research, did the welcome and introductions, and the presentations of the awards were given by Bonnie Onofre, CNO and Cheryl Meyer.

Recipients of the Mabel Lamberson scholarships

These scholarships and awards are possible due to the generous donation of Mabel Lamberson, a graduate of the Robert Packer Hospital School of Nursing. The first segment of the awards ceremony is to present awards for the recipients of the Mabel Lamberson Scholarships. The 2013 recipients of the Mabel Lamberson scholarships are seeking to further their formal education. This year there were four scholarship recipients.

  • Lori Jewett, BSN, RN, CDN, dialysis, pursuing an MSN
  • Marsha Romberger, RN, CCRN, ICU, pursuing a BSN
  • Teri O’Brien, RN, ONC, 5 Main, pursuing a BSN
  • Pam Felt, BSN, RN-C, Behavioral Health Unit, pursuing an MSN

The Friend of Nursing Award

This is the seventh year the Department of Nursing is awarding a person or department who has significantly supported nursing. This year, the award went to an individual who has significantly supported the nursing department and allows it to perform at its very best. The award was presented to Food and Nutrition Director Henry Farley to thank him for going above and beyond in his efforts to help the nursing department with their many events.

Recipients of the 2013 Mabel Lamberson Awards

Recipients of the 2013 Mabel Lamberson Awards

  • Linda Cass, RN-C, Behavioral Health Unit, Excellence in Nursing Care Award
  • Rachel Ferraro, RN, CCRN, ICU, Excellence in Nursing Leadership Award
  • Heather Hadlock, RRT, Post Recovery Unit, Nursing Support Staff Award

Nominees for the Mabel Lamberson Awards

Nursing Support Nominees:

  • Danielle Earley, ICU
  • Mike Early, ICU
  • Donna Ellis, 5 Main
  • Heather Hadlock, PRU
  •  Janet Haines, BSU
  • Susie Mullen, 5 Main
  • Emily Scrivener, Dialysis
  • Lindsey Shoultes, 5 Main

This year’s recipient of the 2013 Mabel Lamberson award for Excellence in Nursing Care for Support Personnel was Heather Hadlock from PRU.

Excellence in Nursing Care Nominees:

  • Kathleen Anderson, Arrhythmia Center
  • Linda Cass, BSU
  • Steven Hakes, OR
  • Julie Keturi, 5 Main
  • Jen Pike, 5 Main
  • Leah Stephens, 6SW
  • Beate Valero, ICU
  • Megan Warner, ED
  • Ann Williams, ICU

This year’s recipient of the 2013 Mabel Lamberson award for Excellence in Nursing Care was Linda Cass from BSU.

Nursing Leadership Nominees:

  • Jan Addabbo, Infusiion
  • Rachel Ferraro, ICU
  • Lori Jewett, Dialysis
  • Joe Johnson, ICU
  • Bonnie Morris, 5 Main
  • Teri O’Brien, 5 Main

This year’s recipient of the 2013 Mabel Lamberson award for Nursing Leadership was Rachel Ferraro from ICU.